Stoked

Finger locks and toe jams
Ryan Cerf crushing Crime of the Century (5.11c)

I was pleasantly surprised this morning to check the notifications on my instagram and have the American Alpine Club feature my photo of Ryan Cerf cranking on Crime of the Century (5.11c) in Squamish.

 

Regram from @tsherrygeo of "Ryan Cerf cranking and crushing his first 5.11." Crime of the Century in Squamish. #aacgram

A photo posted by American Alpine Club (@americanalpine) on Feb 18, 2015 at 5:50am PST

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

Taking this photo was a lot of fun. Matt Macatee and I climbed up Penny Lane and then made our way over to where we could rap to the Crime of the Century Anchors. He continued down to the ground and I stayed on the ledge, set an anchor and safetyed in. I pulled up and coiled my rope so that it would be out of the photo. Ryan led up the pitch, cranking away while I fired off tons of photos. I was using my Nikon D-7000 and Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 lens. Settings: 16mm, f/13, 1/2000 sec. exposure, ISO 1600. It was a bright day.

Matt Macatee working through Crime of the Century.
Matt Macatee working through Crime of the Century.

Matt Macatee attempted the route after Ryan and didn’t make it in one go. He got to the top with one fall and a nemesis to return to. I rappelled down and Sabrina and I both tried Crime of the Century on toprope. It’s thin, and pumpy, and we weren’t placing gear!

Sabrina on Crime of the Century
Sabrina on Crime of the Century
Me getting worked on Crime of the Century
Me getting worked on Crime of the Century
Leave a Reply

